Trusting God

A truth that has hit me heavy recently: in every area that humans fall short, God excels. The people we love the most WILL fail us, and we WILL fail them in return. Despite our best efforts to be kind, honest, loving, loyal, generous, patient and forgiving, we often fall short. Our sin nature trips us up despite our best intentions. The Holy Spirit empowers us to love people, but no person loves perfectly as God does.

Lately I have struggled with deep trust issues; I feel betrayed, and I wonder if I will ever be able to trust again. I constantly question and examine every word that is spoken, and I have to continuously fight to keep my peace. As I was wrestling with my hurts in prayer, I heard a powerful song that adjusted my perspective.

[[You Alone by Lauren Daigle]]

“I will trust in You alone

You are a fortress for the weak

The strength carries me when I am on my knees

The cross reminds my heart to trust

Your faithfulness and love will always be enough

God used these beautiful words to assure me of this: “You can always trust Me, My child. I have never and will never fail you.” These are not just empty words: he showed his love and devotion to us on the cross. 1 Corinthians 4:20 tells us: “…the kingdom of God is not a matter of talk but of power.” He went all in; he did not withhold an ounce of his love from us, and he is still all in. In her book Girls with Swords, Lisa Bevere states that “the cross is the ultimate assurance of every promise kept”. Thank you, Jesus.

He isn’t just MORE trustworthy than any person we know; he is always only trustworthy. He IS faithful. The scripture below tells us faithfulness is ingrained in his character.


If we are unfaithful,
he remains faithful,
for he cannot deny who he is.
2 Timothy 2:13


Be assured, he does not and cannot lie. Every Word he speaks can be trusted wholly. His love for us is completely pure; it is never motivated by insecurity or selfishness, and it is in no way marred by sin. I am grateful for these truths that create a confidence in Him that can anchor my soul during the storms of life.


God is not a man, so he does not lie.
He is not human, so he does not change his mind.
Has he ever spoken and failed to act?
Has he ever promised and not carried it through?
Numbers 23:19

So God has given both his promise and his oath. These two things are unchangeable because it is impossible for God to lie. Therefore, we who have fled to him for refuge can have great confidence as we hold to the hope that lies before us. This hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls.
Hebrews 6:18, 19


~Lacey

Leave a Reply

