Never Too Late

About a year ago I was reading my daily devotion from Jesus Calling, by Sara Young.

COME TO ME CONTINUALLY.  I am meant to be the Center of your consciousness, the Anchor of your soul.  Your mind will wander from me, but the question is how far you allow it to wander.  An anchor on a short rope lets a boat drift only slightly before the taut line tugs the boat back toward the center.  Similarly, as you drift away from Me, My Spirit within you gives a tug, prompting you to return to me.  As you become increasingly attuned to My Presence, the length of rope on your soul’s Anchor is shortened.  You wander only a short distance before feeling that inner tug-telling you to return to your true Center in Me.

Hebrews 6:19; 1 John 2:28; Matthew 22:37

 

We tend to get so caught up in our emotion and let our minds wander.  As I was reflecting on the devotion and God’s word, so many emotions came over me that day. I wrote some thoughts down that day and wanted to share them with you:

 

This devotional is where I have been in my life over the past few years.   As I have gone through my twenties and entered into my thirties, my life has changed.  The biggest challenge was moving away from family to start my career.  I knew God had a hand in it but I did not realize the big impact.  My husband and I had our first child in our late twenties and welcomed our second baby in our early thirties.  I have doubted my salvation from time to time.  I have questioned if am I really saved.  How do I know that I am saved?    Like this devotional says, your mind will wander from me, but the question is, how far will you allow it to wander? After having my second child, I had to overcome a lot.  I think it was my breaking point.  Life changes.  I had entered my thirties, received a few promotions at work—raising two kids and working full time.  It was then that I realized for the first time in my life what my salvation meant to me. It was then that I started pouring my heart out to God.  It was then that I knew that he died on that cross for me!  He arose three days later for me!  His blood shed for me!  How could I live through my twenties in doubt?  It was exactly what Sara Young was saying in this devotional—I  let my mind wander!  I let the devil attack me!   As I approach this new season in my life, I am thankful for His grace and mercy.

 

We switched churches about 6 months ago.  At the beginning of June, we attended a class at the church for potential new members.  At the class, the pastor made a major statement that had an incredible impact on me.  I went home and talked to my husband about it and called my friend to tell her about what he had said.  I knew I had to contact the preacher.  So this Sunday I am getting baptized for the second time in my life!  This time has more meaning to me.  It is me telling the world that I know that I know that I know!  There is no doubt!  I am his!  He is my first true love!  It may have taken me longer than some to realize that but wow does it feel good!    I am telling each and every one of you today!  We all struggle in life.  It could be our job, our marriage, raising our children.  Life is not perfect but one thing is true—he  will never leave our side.  Hebrews 6:19 is written on a sticky note on my desk at work.  I read it every morning: We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure.  It enters the inner sanctuary behind the curtain.

 

So friends, it is a year later and I still struggle.   Life is not perfect.  We will struggle.  If you are at the point I was at year ago, I have a few things to share with you:

God never said it would be easy.  He said he would hold our hands through it all.

It is never too late to submit to Him.  There is no age limit on your salvation.  Come one, come all!

He is a forgiving God.  Your past does not define you.

If you have doubts like I did, find someone to talk to about your salvation.

We need God every hour of every day!  The old hymn says “I need Thee every hour, Most gracious Lord: No tender voice like Thine Can peace afford.”

 

Love,

Leah

Leave a Reply

