Little Confirmations Everywhere

Sometimes, you are not even looking for anything from God.  Maybe you have forgotten to seek His help for a decision that needs to be made.  God may even seek you.  If He did, would you recognize it?  What if you don’t think you need Him, but He blindsides you, leaving you wondering what just happened? What, then, will you seek next? Well, it happened to me that day when my co-worker prayed over me in my cube last year. (If you missed that post, you can read it here.)

My co-worker walked away after one of the most powerful moments of my life and I realized that there was no one I could go tell. I wanted to tell someone what just happened, but my friends were not at work yet.  Sadly, I was not seeking God for answers, but friends.  So, naturally, where else do you go to find your friends? Facebook, of course! Ha!

{Thankfully, a few months earlier, I did a 21 day social media fast and ultimately scrubbed my Facebook feed after I realized that the information I was allowing into my mind was key to my happiness (or lack thereof).  I made an effort to “unlike” all of the things that brought me down or clogged my mind with unwanted information.  And at the same time, I made an effort to “like” more Christian pages that posted scripture and uplifting information.}

So, the first thing I saw on Facebook that April morning was an invitation to an online book study with Proverbs 31 Ministries. –Confirmation- How wonderful that because of my “seeking God” in January, I found Him, in God’s perfect and providential timing, on Facebook. I don’t remember exactly what that post said, but I do remember it said, “Click here.”  And y’all—it was like my body was on auto-pilot.  I clicked. I signed up. I ordered the book. Done.  Without even having the words to ask God what to do after my wild encounter with the Holy Spirit in my cube, He gave me what I needed.  About a week later, I received my book in the mail. What Happens When Women Walk in Faith, by Lysa TerKeurst launched me on a faith journey so profound that my whole life has changed drastically because of it.

The book study led me down a path of self-exploration and soul-searching. Phase one of walking in faith is “leaving.”  During that first week, I discovered that I had to leave behind something crucial for my walk in faith to progress.  I wanted it to be my job, but definitely didn’t get any confirmations on that one.  By that Saturday night, I felt like maybe God was telling me to leave behind shame.  Shame?  Yep—good ole’ shame. I would venture to say it’s probably Satan’s most common stronghold.  Oh, how he loves to sneak in and make you second guess everything and feel bad about, well, pretty much every choice or decision you have ever made. I’ll be honest: I didn’t even know I was holding on to shame. Seriously. I didn’t think I had a problem with it (that’s the pride issue, but I didn’t realize that was a problem until about 6 months later…).

And, you’ll never guess what He said to me through that Sunday’s message at church.  In reference to Adam and Eve in the garden after they ate the fruit to gain God’s knowledge and wisdom in Genesis 3, I wrote in my notes, “When you choose the worldly view (tree of knowledge of good and evil), it produces a loss of innocence and shame.”  It was as though the flood gates of shame were open and I felt it all at once.  It was like God was bringing it to my attention just so that I could let it go—and all because I asked Him for help.  And at the end of the message that day, I wrote, “If you have felt shame, choose to live in the tree of life. Fall in love with Jesus. Don’t allow condemnation. Make the choice every day. Come into a relationship with Jesus. God, please transform me from the inside.” -Confirmation-

Leave the shame behind. Transformation has begun! Hallelujah!

Throughout the next 4 weeks, I wrote prayers asking God to help me get my priorities straight. I asked Him to help me see the things that were holding me back from walking in faith like Abraham, Sarah, Jacob, and Moses (among the many examples in the Bible).  I began to *finally* seek God for help. I was seeking Him for answers to questions that Lysa Terkeurst helped me to ask.  And he slowly began to reveal things to me that would absolutely rock my world—this path of exploration ended up taking me to my knees in complete and total desperation in August—where God met me in my weakest moment. (More on that next time!)

Friends, seek God first. It’s really not just a cliché. Before seeking help from anything or anyone else, seek Him. Recognize that He is always present and trying to help you—even when you don’t ask for it, He’s still there guiding and nudging, waiting to give you those little confirmations to help you move on.  Sometimes it’s hard to physically see or feel Him with us.  Of all places to find a confirmation, I found one on Facebook!  He confirmed that what I had just experienced was indeed from the Holy Spirit and I was to step out in faith and follow Him.  God can and will use whoever and whatever possible to reach you! But oh, how much easier it is to go straight to the source! Ask Him. Seek Him. Knock and He will answer.


 “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.  For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.”  ~Matthew 7:7-8


Heavenly Father, thank you so much for helping me to see the little confirmations everywhere.  Thank you for your guidance and your gentle nudges that steer me in the right direction; may I always recognize your presence. I pray that my friends reading this post today will seek you and see their own confirmations of your presence in their lives. May they feel your grace and mercy and know that it’s you! Thank you for your son, Jesus, and it’s in His name I pray. Amen!

Love,

Jamie

Leave a Reply

