Dear Older Me: There is Hope in the Future

I absolutely love the song Dear Younger Me by Mercy Me!  In case you are not familiar with it, click here to listen/watch! (Full lyrics at the bottom of this page.)

Every time I hear it, I ponder the idea of what would I tell my younger self, if I could, to save myself from today’s heartaches.  It’s a novel idea, alas, not possible.   And would I really want to anyways?  I mean I wouldn’t be who I am today had I not suffered the hardships.  You can probably guess where I’m going next…BUT, I can influence my future based on what I have learned to date and what God has carried me, brought me, and drug me, kicking and screaming I might add, through thus far.

Dear Older Me,

Please remember you do not have to be perfect at anything.  If fact, as hard as you have tried your whole life, hopefully you have learned that it is impossible!  Who cares what anyone on the outside sees or thinks.  Be proud of not being perfect. In fact, boast about it and stop feeling lonely.  Let others in on your issues with anxiety, and guess what, they will probably join that band wagon!

“…My grace is all you need.  My power works best in weakness.  So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me.  That’s why I take pleasure in my weaknesses…and the troubles I suffer for Christ.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.” 2 Corinthians 12:9-10

                Please be good to yourself, do less, take time for yourself.  It’s how you will truly recharge the batteries and actually be a better mom, wife, worker, friend etc. for those around you.  And don’t feel guilty about it either!  Remember Satan knows when to attack as much as how to attack.  He knows when you are tired, sick or weak and that lion pounces!  Thank goodness the one in me is greater than the one in the world!!!

“Be still and know that I am God!” Psalm 46:10

 Try, try, try to be patient in the struggles.  God never wastes a hurt, a pain, or a tear.  He sees them all and knows them all.  He was there the entire time, and He is using them for a greater purpose.  He’s working something out inside of you in the process.  No matter what it is you are going through, continue to pray for His will, not yours!  All that you are is because of Him…so be patient with what he is doing in you!

“Rejoice in our confident hope.  Be patient in trouble, and keep on praying.” Romans 12:12

 Stay here! Period.  God is the great I AM!  Not I was, or I will be, but I AM!  He gives us today’s bread or manna for today only.  If it’s Friday, be thankful for that and the bread He gave you to get through the day and stop worrying about having to go to work on Monday.  Listen to me self…I know what I’m talking about here!

“So do not worry for tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring worries of its own.  Today’s trouble is enough for today.” Matthew 6:34

 A relationship with God isn’t based on rules; it’s based on love.  The love he has for you is perfect and unfaltering.  It’s so strong that while you were a sinner He sent His son to DIE an undeserved and horribly brutal death for YOU!  You are already forgiven for your sins…and loved so dearly.  There are no rules to have a relationship with God.  Maybe Phil Robertson is on to something “Love God, love your neighbor”…that’s it.

“For God loved the world so much that He gave His one and only Son, so that everyone who believes in Him will not perish but have eternal life.  God sent His only Son into the world not to judge the world, but to save the world through Him.” John 3:16-17

 Remember God is love and God is in you, so share that with others.  I know it’s tough, but be kind when it’s undeserved, patient when it takes every fiber of your being, allow grace for others for it has been given to you, forgive even when it has not been asked for, turn and give them the other cheek when you’ve been hurt or wronged…after all, Jesus did all of this for you!

“Love is patient and kind.  Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude.  It does not demand it’s own way.  It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged.  It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever truth wins out.  Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.” 1 Corinthians 13:4-7

                 Most importantly, TRUST in Him!  I know it’s tough.  But take a moment to reflect on all He has brought you through…hasn’t He proved Himself to be trustworthy!!! And He will continue to!  Just trust Him.

“But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength.  They will soar high on wings like eagles.  They will run and not grow weary.  They will walk and not faint.” Isaiah 41:31

Love,

 Olivia

Question: What would your letter to yourself look like? Let us know in the comments!

Dear Younger Me

Dear younger me
Where do I start
If I could tell you everything that I have learned so far
Then you could be
One step ahead
Of all the painful memories still running thru my head
I wonder how much different things would be
Dear younger me,

Dear younger me
I cannot decide
Do I give some speech about how to get the most out of your life
Or do I go deep
And try to change
The choices that you’ll make cuz they’re choices that made me
Even though I love this crazy life
Sometimes I wish it was a smoother ride
Dear younger me, dear younger me

If I knew then what I know now
Condemnation would’ve had no power
My joy my pain would’ve never been my worth
If I knew then what I know now
Would’ve not been hard to figure out
What I would’ve changed if I had heard

Dear younger me
It’s not your fault
You were never meant to carry this beyond the cross
Dear younger me

You are holy
You are righteous
You are one of the redeemed
Set apart a brand new heart
You are free indeed

Every mountain every valley
Thru each heartache you will see
Every moment brings you closer
To who you were meant to be
Dear younger me, dear younger me

You are holy
You are righteous
You are one of the redeemed
Set apart a brand new heart
You are free indeed

Leave a Reply

