Sisterhood of the Traveling Spirit

Okay, I’ll admit I have never seen the movie Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, but I’m familiar with the plot (as much I want to be anyways)…four lifelong friends are separating for the summer and across their journeys over the world “they are, connected by a pair of jeans that they take turns sharing — pants that fit all four girls and exemplify their tight bond.” (source)

Sounds pretty awesome right!  A pair of jeans that somehow fits four very differently shaped girls, and arrives at the right time to lift their spirits and connect them to a greater purpose than themselves…each other!

It’s really not all that farfetched…there is something out there that fits all of us (on the inside anyways), and we can share with others anytime…yep! The Holy Spirit!

 …But we have all been baptized into one body by one Spirit,
and we all share the same Spirit.   1 Cor 12:13

As fellow believers, we are the Body of Christ and we have a responsibility to lift our sister (and brother) believers in Christ when life is difficult for them or they are under attack.  For when we do this, we receive a little extra something ourselves, much like a funnel that water passes through, a few water droplets are always left behind.  And we make our Dad in Heaven so proud!  We are so much stronger as a team than individually, and the best part is that when an encourager is down they can have hope that those they have helped will help and lift them in return.

Note: this does require the humility of asking for help, asking for prayer, and letting others in.  No more pretending to be perfect or pretending you’ve got everything figured out.  It takes a lot of courage to let others know you struggle and to give up any shame you might feel because of it.

No one ever hates his own body, but feeds and takes care of it.  And that is what Christ does for the church, because we are parts of his body. Eph 5:29-30

If one part of the body suffers, all the other parts suffer with it.  Or if one part of the body is honored, all the other parts share in its honor.  Together you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is a part of that body.  1 Cor 12:26-27

Over the past year I have really had to depend on my body of Christ sisters (and a few brothers!) in my weaknesses.  The best part, aside from me getting validation that I’m not the only person to ever have these thoughts/feelings, is that I’m giving them an opportunity to shine for God’s purpose.  He’s given us all a talent, and had I kept my brokenness to myself, they wouldn’t have gotten to use their talents for His glory.  I’m made strong in my weakness–through the power of Christ and the Holy Spirit in them.  Also, they get to exercise giving unconditional love, because in those moments when my faith is low and I’m overcome by fear or anxiety, I truly have nothing to offer them in return.

Each one of us has a body with many parts, and these parts all have different uses.  In the same way, we are many, but in Christ we are all one body.  Each one is a part of that body, and each part belongs to all the other parts.  We all have different gifts, each of which came because of the grace God gave us.  The person who has the gift of prophecy should use that gift in agreement with the faith.  Anyone who has the gift of serving should serve.  Anyone who has the gift of teaching should teach.  Whoever has the gift of encouraging others should encourage.  Whoever has the gift of giving to others should give freely.  Anyone who has the gift of being a leader should try hard when he leads.  Whoever has the gift of showing mercy to others should do so with joy.  Romans 12:4-8

So, I would like to give a shout out to my personal sisterhood of the traveling Holy Spirit…those special friends who have lifted me when I could not see anything but rock bottom and who I hope will continue to lift me when those tough times come back:

Thank you to my mom, Jamie M, Lisa, Sue, Jenna, Marsha, Jennifer V., Jennifer F., Sondra, Natalie, Jennifer A., Nicole, Angie, Tracy, Kim, Lacey, Leah T, Leah D, Sarah, Faye and Jamie H.

And not to forget the special fellas…thank you Andre…you have my heart! Mr. Duane, UB, and Blake–thank you all for your prayers and support!

I pray that I will be there for you if you ever need me and that God’s glory will shine on you brightly!

Love,

Olivia

2 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the Traveling Spirit

  1. Marsha says:

    Thank you for sharing your heart. Looking back to a time that I struggled with lots of anxiety, I can now see the hand of God being able to encourage others. Even just today that happened! So He uses our weaknesses to help others and to depend on His strength more. You are loved Olivia!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

