Go Tell It on the Mountain!

Go tell it on the mountain, Jesus Christ is born!
Go tell it on the mountain, over the hills and everywhere,
Go tell it on the mountain, Jesus Christ it born!

mountains

I recently woke up one night with these lyrics stuck in my head.  You know those nights, right?  I probably replayed this track dozens of times in my head (it would have been nice if I knew more of the words!)…so what did I do?  Normally, I would toss and turn for hours wishing I could just go back to sleep.  But that wasn’t the case this night.  This night I decided to grab a pen, and go tell it on a blog…Jesus Christ is born y’all!

So here’s a funny twist to the story; we’ll call it God twist number one… I cannot remember the last time I heard this song.  It’s probably been since the prior Christmas season.  If I have heard it recently I do not recall, and I’m not the type to sit around and listen to Christmas music all day, so I feel like I would remember…but obviously I was sleep deprived, so who knows…I digress…

Anyways, God twist number two:  Just that morning, approximately 17 hours earlier, I had done the “random flip-open of the Bible” to see what message God might have for me.  Now don’t get ahead of me… but, yes, you are correct, it was a story about the birth of Jesus!  Matthew Chapter 2 to be exact.

Something that really struck me about this passage was about the wise men who came bearing gifts.  They brought extremely valuable gifts in those days… Frankincense, Myrrh, and Gold.  Upon their departure to return home, God spoke to them in a dream and told them to return via a different route, so as not to cross paths with King Herrod again.


Finding Jesus may require us, as believers, to take different paths in life than we ever may have intended. 


Following God’s will for us requires trust and obedience (two things I personally struggle with greatly!).  Those are the gifts that we can give to our Heavenly Father (along with worship, praise, prayer, loving Him and others, etc.).  It’s not Frankincense, Myrrh or Gold, but these gifts are so precious to our Father!  And in return He gives us some pretty precious gifts as well, like salvation, righteousness, faith, peace, hope, joy, love, etc.

So this Christmas season, as we gather and celebrate our Lord Jesus’ birth and give gifts to each other, let us not forget the gifts He has given us.  May we remember not just on December 25th, but all the days of our life from the moment we step out on that path that, perhaps, we never intended to take when we became believers and followers of Christ.

I wonder, if you reflect on your journey, how has it changed through seeking Jesus? What gifts do you give Jesus daily?  What gifts do you feel you receive most?  Do you share these gifts with others?

Merry Christmas and Happy Birthday Jesus!

Olivia

P.S. – Comments feel like a hug, pleases let us know if you enjoy our blog.  You can post on the blog site itself or on our Facebook page.

When they saw the star, they were overjoyed.  On coming to the house, they saw the child with his mother Mary, and they bowed down and worshiped him. Then they opened their treasures and presented him with gifts of gold, frankincense and myrrh.

~Matthew 2:10-11

Leave a Reply

