Dear Overcomer, You Are Not Defeated!

Our Guest Post this week is from Olivia’s sister-in-law, Toni Cowart. Toni has endured many hardships in her life, including losing 3 of her 5 children in a car accident. She has blown us away with her powerful testimony of overcoming the lies of the enemy and surrendering to God’s will for her life.  Toni and her husband, Chris, enjoy traveling, spending time with family and friends, and Alabama football. She has an infectious smile and is truly a joy to be around!

overcomer

Are you starting this year feeling defeated already or are you stepping into this year (maybe even a new season of your life) knowing that whatever may come, you are an overcomer and can already feel the exhilaration of victory?!

I beg you to not just entertain the latter but to embrace it and cling to it on days the enemy whispers, ever so softly, “you are defeated.” (Not to mention the multitude of other things he whispers.)

If you love your Jesus, then you, my dear, are (in spite of yourself) Victorious, an Overcomer, and Praise Him, MORE THAN CONQUERORS!
(Romans 8:37, emphasis added)

Plant the banner of Jesus at the beginning of this year for you and your family and claim the TRUTH! Be the warrior God has called you to be. (Yes, I know that is easier said than done.)

Here is the beauty –  in our fleshly peon, unworthy selves, once we belong to Jesus, God covers us with such righteousness, such blinding light (that is not of us) but of Him, that when the world sees us they see plain ‘ol us and sometimes some of our filth. BUT, when satan looks at us he has to squint or be blinded by The Light we are cloaked in. I love the thought of that!

I don’t really know what the spiritual realm sees but just knowing that both heaven and satan know who we belong to means they see something different in us. Why else would satan attack us so? I like to think it’s the radiance and righteousness of Jesus in us (after all He dwells in us) and that would have to make satan squint, wince and squirm all at once. That suits me just fine.

Being a child of God we are “set apart” from others. We need to act like it. We need to take who we are seriously. We need to be intentional and it begins with knowing that God is exactly who He says He is. It is only then that we remotely begin to grasp who we are in Him.

Until we know who we are in Him, we will struggle with being the warriors for our families we are called to be.

There are things on this earth that we will experience and go through that are humanly impossible. This is where it’s truly a blessing to have Jesus as our Lord. Supernaturally, He can see you through anything because He is the great I AM.

I encourage you to spend one-on-one time seeking Him. Ask Him to show you who He is…He will. The best part is – you will not be disappointed.

Remember: 2017 can be amazing (not necessarily trouble free).  You are more than conquerors! Let the Victory begin!

I know the above to be the truth because I have experienced all the above, and then some. I know defeat (the enemy has whispered so deeply into my soul, but my soul doesn’t belong to him). I have also had my Lord whisper to me that I am His; He has etched me on the very palm of His hand. This trumps anything the enemy can do to me or any name this world can label me with.

Through being abused as a child, satan had me convinced I was bad and it was all my fault and that I could never be like the other little girls. I know what it’s like to lose a child you have only recently and excitedly learned you were carrying to only hear the doctor say, you lost the baby. I know what it’s like to have your husband have an affair, then another, and another. I know what it’s like to have the very husband who professed his love to you in front of God and a church full of people to knock you into a wall because you put too much pepper in the potatoes, for him to come home upset with you, and you not even know why and end up jerked to the floor by the hair on the back of your head. I have worn the labels of divorced, not good enough and (honestly, I don’t have enough time today to list all the names or labels I have carried).

I was blessed with five beautiful children, they exhausted me and yet lit up my world all at the same time. Ages 1, 2, 6, 8 & 10, two boys and three girls. The two babies and I picked up the older three kids one Friday from school. By Monday I was picking out three caskets. A drunk driver had crossed the center yellow line and killed my 6, 8 and 10 year old over the weekend. Yes, I have felt defeat, heart break, shattered and had my world as I knew it rocked!

Yet, I have also experienced peace and joy. A supernatural peace which means I have experienced victory. Victory from what satan meant to shake me to my core. The evil one messed with the wrong woman when he messed with me. As screwed up as my life has been, I am still a child of the Most High. I am…

Today, I am Toni, wife of Chris, mother of five, Nana of three, a lowly peon, yet a child of the Most High God, lover of Jesus, highly favored, blessed and Captive of Hope. I am – because of the Great I AM.

“…we glory in tribulations, knowing that tribulation produces perseverance; and perseverance, character; and character, hope.
Now hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit who was given to us!” (Romans 5: 3-5)

Leave a Reply

