Voice of Truth

You know, there are a lot of voices in this world! I’m not sure about you, but I often find it difficult to discern good from bad. It seems like there is noise everywhere we go. We hear parent’s voices, teacher’s voices, spouse voices, our children’s voices, friend’s voices, co-workers voices, the list could go on and on. Then there’s those other voices we hear and really wish we didn’t, like the news, or internet. It seems like everyone has a voice and an opinion and we all want to get it out, we just want to be heard.

Recently, I went for a hike in the woods with the intent of being heard. I know that sounds strange, considering I was going alone, but I wanted to be heard by God. And, I thought, I was ready to listen for His answer. It was a beautiful day, the kind of day that just refreshes the soul. As I sat at a look-out, I prayed to God, to just speak to me. I asked Him to tell me His will for me. To give me direction in how I could serve Him. You know what I heard…nothing! It wasn’t the moment I wanted silence! So, I went home and told my husband how I was kind of disappointed because I didn’t feel like God would ever speak to me. And he said “Honey, sometimes God is yelling at us and we still don’t hear Him!” He’s so right. We are so busy and with all this noise in our lives, it is often difficult to hear that one still soft voice, that should truly be the driving voice for all that we do, let alone a boisterous thundering voice.

I wonder if Elijah had expectations for how God would speak to him. If you recall, Elijah was on the run for his life, after Queen Jezebel threatened to kill him for killing the false prophets of Baal.

“’Go out and stand before me on the mountain,’ the Lord told him. And as Elijah stood there, the Lord passed by, and a mighty windstorm hit the mountain. It was such a terrible blast that the rocks were torn loose, but the Lord was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake. And after the earthquake, there was a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire there was the sound of a gentle whisper.” 1 Kings 19:11-12 NLT

To be completely honest, if I had of audibly heard the voice of God that day, when I was on my own mountain, I probably would have thought that I was going crazy! That’s why I think God speaks to me in other ways. I think He knows I am a seeing is believing kind of girl. So, how do I feel like God speaks to me? Through a butterfly or hawk at the precise moment I need to see it, through a song on the radio that perhaps I’ve heard a million times, but at this moment it truly speaks to me. Sometimes God speaks to me through others voices, like my son telling me “I’ll never leave you, now let’s go play with trains” or a sweet friend gently grabbing me and reminding me “He loves you, yes you, Olivia! And nothing you have done or ever will do can change that!”

When I hear people say things like “I heard God say to me…,” I’ll admit, I am jealous. I want to hear God as plain as day. I want to hear Him all the time. I want to have actual conversations with Him. But then again, would I be brave enough to be obedient to what He desires for me to do??? (Probably not, but that’s for another blog).

So, with all the noise and voices swirling around us, which one do we decide to listen to? I certainly can’t listen to my own voice…one minute I might tell myself life is good and the next I tell myself I’m awful or I’m going to fail. So, we have to listen to the voice inside of us that comes from outside of us. It’s the voice of truth, the voice of God. And it’s steadfast. The word of God is as true today as the day He spoke it, regardless of how we feel. 

I think the song Voice of Truth by Casting Crowns really sums it up well:

Oh what I would do to have
The kind of faith it takes 
To climb out of this boat I’m in
Onto the crashing waves
To step out of my comfort zone
Into the realm of the unknown where Jesus is
And He’s holding out His hand

But the waves are calling out my name
And they laugh at me
Reminding me of all the times 
I’ve tried before and failed
The waves they keep on telling me
Time and time again. “Boy, you’ll never win!”
“You’ll never win!”

But the voice of truth tells me a different story
The voice of truth says, “Do not be afraid!”
The voice of truth says, “This is for My glory”
Out of all the voices calling out to me
I will choose to listen and believe the voice of truth

Oh what I would do to have
The kind of strength it takes to stand before a giant
With just a sling and a stone
Surrounded by the sound of a thousand warriors
Shaking in their armor
Wishing they’d have had the strength to stand

But the giant’s calling out my name
And he laughs at me
Reminding me of all the times 
I’ve tried before and failed
The giant keeps on telling me
Time and time again. “Boy you’ll never win!”
“You’ll never win!”

But the stone was just the right size
To put the giant on the ground
And the waves they don’t seem so high
From on top of them lookin’ down

I will soar with the wings of eagles
When I stop and listen to the sound of Jesus
Singing over me
I will choose to listen and believe the voice of truth

(Songwriters: Steven Curtis Chapman / Mark Hall)

Love,
Olivia

Father,

Please help us to tune into your voice despite all the noise and confusion that swirls around us. Give us the patience to be still while we wait for you to speak. Give us the courage to be obedient to your will. In your son Jesus’ might name!

Amen!

Leave a Reply

